Thursday 23 May 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday 26 May 2019 - 19:30

24 May: Gala at the Dramatyczny Theatre

25 May: Day of Reportage at the Warsaw Book Fair

23, 26 May: meetings with former laureates and special guests, screening of Another Day of Life

Ryszard Kapuściński Award is an international award granted yearly for the best reportage book published in Polish during the previous calendar year. The Award aims to put to the fore the most worthwhile books on important contemporary issues, as well as promote thought-provoking reportages that deepen our knowledge and understanding of the world and of other cultures. The Award is a means to pay tribute to Ryszard Kapuściński – an eminent reporter, journalist, publicist and poet, who turned journalism into art, and who spent nearly 60 years in Warsaw.

The shortlist for the 10th edition includes a reportage story about today’s London, a metropolis mirroring our world: This is London. Life and Death in the World City by a British writer Ben Judah, who will be a guest on the Day of Reportage (meeting on 25 May at 4:20 pm, “London A” hall at the Warsaw Book Fair). Its Polish version by Barbara Gutowska-Nowak has also made it to the shortlist in the category of translation. Translators panel will take place on the Day of Reportage at 12 am (“London A” hall).

More about the book:,6,11089.html?locale=en_GB 

British Council is a partner for both events.

The 10th edition of the Kapuściński Award will see meetings with all the finalists for the year 2018: Ben Judah, Masha Gessen, Maciej Zaremba Bielawski, Mariusz Szczygieł and Paweł Kapusta, along with special guests: Svetlana Alexievich and Jean Hatzfeld, as well as two finalists panels, and a gala. Simultaneous or consecutive interepretation from/into English will be provided at the finalist panel of authors (Thursday, 23 May, 7 pm, Teatr Powszechny), at the Award gala, and during meetings with Ben Judah and Masha Gessen. The program of the final includes a special screening of Another Day of Life directed by Damian Nenow and Raúl de la Fuente.